#rodeoaustin – another collection of personal musings whilst conducting research of the #davidfosterwallace archive at the Harry Ransom Center, UT, Austin, TX (Day Thirteen)

IMG_5005

The rodeo. What a very alien thing to see when you’re from the UK. In equal measure it is also quite exciting, and done in a way that I imagine can only be done by Americans. I’m led to believe that the cowboys we all think we know from TV and movies are largely a fallacy (but happy to be corrected by those in the know). What I saw today was an exhibition of great skill, and the thing that stood out in my mind was a comment from the announcer that the Austin Rodeo is a not-for-profit organization, with great emphasis on education and creating opportunities for youngsters. The whole event seemed to be populated by people who were doing what they were doing just because they love it, and that’s quite a nice thing to see.

About the textual silence project...

...reading, thinking, and thinking about reading... ...and then writing... View all posts by the textual silence project...

One response to “#rodeoaustin – another collection of personal musings whilst conducting research of the #davidfosterwallace archive at the Harry Ransom Center, UT, Austin, TX (Day Thirteen)

  • Christy Birmingham

    Aha, now I know how the rodeo was! I am glad you are safe, hehe, as per my previous comment. I agree that it makes me happy to hear about non-profits. Seeing happy people around me always takes my happy-factor up another notch too. Insert smiling face here.

Spare a moment of your time here...

